Chamber music concert

Loading Map....


19:30 - 22:00


Auditorio de Tenerife
Avenida de la Constitución, 1
Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Download iCal archive: iCal

Cristo Barrios – clarinet
Gustavo Díaz-Jerez – piano
Fauré Quartett: Erika Geldsetzer – violin; Sascha Frömbling – viola;
Konstantin Heidrich – violoncello; Dirk Mommertz – piano

The obvious protagonist of today’s concert is the piano quartet, giving rise to a programme which is particularly interesting, since the presence of this formation in chamber music cycles is not nearly so frequent as the much more popular string quartet. Nevertheless, there is a repertoire for the piano quartet deserving of consideration, and the present concert begins and ends with two paradigmatic examples: the Piano Quartet No 1 by George Enescu and, closing the concert, the Piano Quartet No 1 by Gabriel Fauré, who had been the teacher of composition of Enescu at the Paris Conservatoire. Although the temporal and geographical distance between Fauré and Enescu is quite considerable as far as the year and place of birth are concerned―Fauré was born in France in 1845 and Enescu, in Romania in 1888―their biographies intersect in Paris at the end of the 19th century. Here Fauré achieved an increasing degree of influence over the next generation of composers, who were finding their own paths in the French capital. His influence was due not only to the importance of his compositions, but also to his teaching and subsequent administrative roles, since, as director of the Paris Conservatoire, his commitment to new music was of crucial importance for the development of this new generation. Between these two works of great variety and substance, the Quantum Ensemble has commissioned Pablo Díaz to arrange for violin, clarinet, viola, cello and piano four hands, one of the most popular compositions of the French repertoire, namely, Paul Dukas’ The Sorcerer’s Apprentice.