• SIGCD612-scaled_PORTADA_MAGHEK (150x150)
  • Maghek

  • Cristo-Barrios-Portada-Oro 150_Fotor
  • Deep Light

  • IAMUS (150x150)

  • Roberto Gerhard y Joaquim Homs (150x150)
  • Roberto Gerhard and Joaquim Homs. Chamber Music

  • Music from out of Time (imagen destacada)
  • Music from out of Time II

  • CD4_autorescanarios
  • Nuevas obras para clarinete y piano

  • CD3_modernclarinet
  • XXth Century music for clarinet and piano

  • CD2_voiceclarinet
  • The voice of the clarinet

  • CD1_naxos
  • Joaquim Homs. Music for Chamber Orchestra


    This album represents the culmination of more than ten years of composition work by Gustavo Díaz-Jerez. It comprises seven symphonic poems evoking the landscapes and natural beauty of the Canary Islands. The cycle takes its name, Maghek (“who creates light”), from the sun goddess of the Guanches, the aboriginal inhabitants of the Canary Islands.

    Ayssuragan, symphonic poem for clarinet and orchestra, is part of this ambitious creative project. It is a composition in which somewhat complex tools come together, such as elements of the spectral compositional current and procedures related to mathematics and computing. The work allows us to experience aspects of the nature of sound that are difficult to access otherwise. On the other hand, this concert is emphatically melodic, timbral, sweet and, at times, fast-paced. Thus, although it may seem paradoxical, Ayssuragan has, on the one hand, a highly original facet that makes the listener enjoy an unusual musical experience; however, on the other hand, it presents an accessible and direct musical discourse.

    The Scottish National Symphony Orchestra, Eduardo Portal (conductor), Richardo Descalzo (piano) and Cristo Barrios (clarinet) participated in this project. The project was financed by the BBVA Foundation (Leonardo scholarship), the Government of the Canary Islands, El Cabildo de Tenerife and El Cabildo de Gran Canaria.

    Texto de Cristo Barrios


    Gustavo Díaz-Jerez, composer
    Royal Scottish National Orchestra
    Eduardo Portal, conductor
    Cristo Barrios, clarinet
    Ricardo Descalzo, piano

    Lista de obras

    Gustavo Díaz-Jerez (n. 1970)
    Ymarxa, Tenerife
    Ayssuragan, La Palma. Soloist: Cristo Barrios (clarinet)
    Guanapay, Lanzarote. Soloist: Ricardo Descalzo (piano)
    Chigaday, La Gomera
    Azaenegue, Gran Canaria
    Erbane, Fuerteventura
    Aranfaybo, El Hierro